So what to do all day!

I don’t know where the time goes considering my only business is with the NHS,
although that takes some managing. Depending on how l feel l aim at one major thing
from my “list” book a day. If you have been following my blog for a while you will know about my ” list” book. The other day l was reading my blog of a year ago. I had
written about the how l expected everything to be over and l would have been recovering, little did l know some eighteen months later the fight would still be going on. Last year l had made a list of things l wanted to do this year which included taking up horse riding again !!!
I have really enjoyed spending time in my tiny garden this summer. Last summer l was looking at a brick wall from my hospital room, previous summers when l was working l would often be away from home. It is very tempting to sit in the sun, but apparently this doesn’t mix with chemo…. Even though l pile on the factor 50 ! I have even managed to grow some tomatoes…. Well to be honest l only see four so far !

I have just finished yet another week of chemo injections. On the plus side, my dose was a lesser strength than before so although tiring, the side effects didn’t have the same impact. I am been given this chemo to try and stop any of my bad cells from developing and attacking Heathers cells. In fact l had a treat this week, Georgie – Annie’s daughter has just started working at Kingston as an F2. She came and found me on one of her induction days and held my hand, kept talking and the injection was administered without me even noticing. Georgie will be working in A&E …so
if l get any more infections l will be in good hands !
At this time l am pleased to report there are no signs of the leukaemia cells showing.
I am a bit like a car, needing a top up every week and so l return to Kingston for supplies of platelets and bloods when needed. I go in once or twice a week at this time.

I am also going to Kings College this week to have another transfusion of Heathers
White cells. You may remember they were harvested several months ago and frozen.
Last time l had this procedure, Heather and my cells had a little battle going on, this could be one of our personality traits coming out… we both like to be in charge and l for one can be stubborn ! As a friend said the other day, it’s a good thing l am stubborn as it’s made me keep going ! I hope that by adding more of Heathers cells, my bone marrow might start producing good cells and turning this situation around.
Being back in the hands of the transplant team has made me feel we are finally taking a step in the right direction instead of what seemed to be treading water.
So hospital appointments seem to keep me busy.

The chemo is beginning to give me another “detox”. Coffee is going down on the list, chocolate is also in decline but anything salty is moving up on the taste bud list. I am still craving for salad, but it’s banned for now and so madly looking up recipes that fit into the neutropenic diet 🍉🌽🍳🍟

2 thoughts on “So what to do all day!

  1. david mcmahon

    This is Good News……especially on the tomato scene…4 tomatoes….bloody ell…a triumph! Can you come over to Woking and save my rotten plants.
    I love your blog. Just when I need inspiration…along it comes and I somehow manage life so much better. Good Vibes all round!

    much love David.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Sally

    You are going to get this thing done once and for all. Keeping busy is the greatest thing even in retirement.
    Keeping you always in my prayers love Sally xxxxx

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment